Are you applying for a Schengen Visa from UAE in The Right Category?

Are you dreaming of exploring the charming streets of Paris or diving into the crystal-clear waters of Santorini? The Schengen visa serves as a gateway to 27 European countries, allowing UAE residents to embark on unforgettable adventures. To avoid rejections you must apply for Schengen visa in the right category. However, navigating through the various Schengen visa categories can be a daunting task. Fear not! In this blog post, we will unravel the mysteries of different Schengen visa types available for UAE residents, making your European travel dreams a reality.

What are different types of Schengen visas?

What is a Schengen Visa?

A Schengen visa is a mandatory travel permit for non-Europeans around the world traveling to the Schengen area in Europe. This Schengen area covers 27 countries in Europe these countries have abolished passports and other types of border control at their mutual borders. This means that once you enter one Schengen country, you can travel freely within the area without additional visas or border checks.

Which Countries Can I Travel to With a Schengen Visa in 2024?

You can travel to 27 European countries with a Schengen visa. These countries namely include:
Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Different Types Of Schengen Visas:

1. The Uniform Schengen Visa (USV):

The Uniform Schengen Visa, also known as USV, is the most common type of Schengen visa issued to UAE residents. It allows travelers to visit any Schengen country for a maximum duration of 90 days within a 180-day period. Whether you’re traveling for leisure, business, or to visit friends and relatives, the USV has got you covered.

There are 3 types of Uniform Schengen Visas:

●     Type A Schengen Visa or Transit Visa for Airport Transit:

The type A Schengen visa allows citizens of non-Schengen states to transit through or wait for their connecting flight in the international zone of an airport located in a Schengen country. It is compulsory for those traveling from a non-Schengen country to another non-Schengen country and who have connected flights in the airport of a Schengen country. The holder of a type A visa is not allowed to leave the so-called transit area at the airport and enter the said Schengen country.

●     Type B Schengen Visa or transit visa valid for 5 days:

The type B Schengen visa is valid for 5 days, which allows the holder to travel through the Schengen Area on his/her way to the final destination outside the Schengen Area.

●     Type C Schengen Visa or Short stay visa to Schengen Area

Type C Schengen visa is for a short stay in any of the Schengen Area countries. The duration of the allowed visit is indicated on the visa. It allows the holder to stay or travel freely in the Schengen area for less than 90 days over a 180-day period. It is mandatory for citizens of some countries. Depending on the purpose of the travel, this visa may be:

●     A single-entry visa:

Only one entry is allowed in any of the countries within the Schengen Area. Once you exit the Schengen area re-entry is not allowed even if a visa is still valid. It is marked as “1” on the visa sticker.

●     A double-entry visa:

Double entry is allowed in any of the countries within the Schengen area during the validity period of the visa. You can thus leave the Schengen area and re-enter it during that period. After the second exit from the Schengen Area, re-entry is not allowed even if the visa is still valid. It is marked as “2” on the visa sticker.

●     A multiple-entry visa:

Multiple entries are allowed in any of the countries within the Schengen area. This visa does not restrict the number of entries into the Schengen Area. However, its validity is limited to 90 days within a 180-day period of time. It is marked as “MULT” on the visa sticker.

Must Read: Schengen tourist visa requirements for UAE residents

2. Limited territorial validity visa (LTV):

If your travel plans primarily involve visiting only a specific Schengen country, the Limited Territorial Validity (LTV) visa is tailored for you. This visa allows you to explore a particular Schengen country for the duration specified in the visa, without granting access to other countries. Ideal for attending conferences, events, or short-term business trips, the LTV visa eliminates the need to obtain a full Schengen visa when you won’t be visiting multiple countries.

3. National visa (Type D):

Planning a long-term stay or looking to study or work in a specific Schengen country? The National visa, also known as a Type D visa, is your golden ticket. With this visa, UAE residents can reside in a Schengen country for an extended period and participate in activities such as work, study, or family reunions. It’s worth noting that the National visa does not grant access to other Schengen countries unless explicitly specified by the issuing country.

4. Airport Transit Visa (ATV):

If your European travel plans involve a layover at a Schengen airport, the Airport Transit Visa (ATV) is what you need. This visa allows UAE residents to transit through any Schengen country’s international zone without entering the country itself. Bear in mind that the ATV does not permit you to leave the airport’s international area.

5. Schengen Visa for Special Situations:

There are also specific types of Schengen visas designed to accommodate special circumstances, such as Medical, Cultural / Sports/ Religious events, Tourism/Visitors,  Study, Employment, and many more. Each visa caters to a unique situation and offers flexibility for individuals embarking on journeys that extend beyond tourism, but also for business, medical treatment, research, or educational pursuits. At Travnook our experts will guide you to start with your Schengen application from UAE in the right category according to your travel purpose.

Must Read: How to get fastest Schengen visa from Dubai

Benefits Of Schengen Visa for UAE Residents:

  • Seamless travel across multiple European countries
  • Enhanced Travel Flexibility
  • Diverse cultural experiences
  • Seamless business opportunities
  • Schengen Plus: Extended Travel Opportunities
  • Time and cost-efficient

What happens if I apply for a Schengen visa in the wrong Category?

If you apply for a Schengen visa in the wrong category your travel purpose and visa category don’t match and eventually, this will lead to Schengen visa rejection.

Must Read: Reasons for Schengen visa rejection from UAE


Now that you are well-versed in the various Schengen visa categories available for UAE residents, what are you waiting for? It’s time to dust off your travel bucket list, pack your bags, and embark on an enchanting European odyssey. Whether you choose to explore multiple Schengen countries, visit a specific nation, or simply transit through an airport, there’s a Schengen visa tailored to fulfill your travel aspirations. So, get ready to unwrap the beauty, culture, and adventures that Europe has to offer with the right Schengen visa category for your UAE residency! Contact us for your Schengen travel assistance from UAE.

Share This Story :

let us contact you